Golden Globes

Golden Globes Awards are one of the major film and TV awards in the world, it is run by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. It acknowledges the best movies all over the world and in the TV department only American TV. The award ceremony is held each year in the month of January, in which all of the movies in the last year are considered. There are different awards categories including the Best Film and the Best Television show of the year.

History of Golden Globes

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association, which was called Hollywood Foreign Correspondents Association at the time, held the first Golden Globe awards in 1944. It was a casual/informal ceremony held at the 20th Century Fox studios. Awards were given to the best in the film business. The best actor award was given to Paul Lukes for his performance in Watch on the Rhine, the Best Actress award was given to Jennifer Jones for her performance in the film, The Song of Bernadette. And the Best Picture award was given to the same film(The Song of Bernadette).

The next year the Association decided to hold a competition in which people were asked to design a statuette of the award, which would be presented/given to the people who won it. the statuette designed by Marina Cisternas was accepted by the association. It was a statuette, with a Globe on its head. The same award is given to the winners today.

The next year (1945) the Golden Globes were held at Beverly Hills Hotel, and it has been held by the Hollywood Foreign Correspondents Association, each year after that.

The Golden Globes has been including different award categories over the years so that no genre would miss out. There are different awards for musical, drama, and comedy. There are categories that only deal with the Television industry. In 1952 the HFPA decided to include the Cecil B. DeMille award, which is a lifetime achievement award and it is given to honor “outstanding contribution to the entertainment field”. The first award was given to Cecil B. DeMille.

In 1955 the Hollywood Foreign Correspondents Association was renamed as Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA).

All Golden Globe Award Categories:

Film/Motion Picture Awards

  1. Best Actor in a Motion Picture-Drama
  2. Best Actor in a Motion Picture-Musical or Comedy
  3. Best Actress in a Motion Picture-Drama
  4. Best Actress in a Motion Picture-Musical or Comedy
  5. Best Director-Motion Picture
  6. Best Supporting Actor-Motion Picture
  7. Best Supporting Actress – Motion Picture
  8. Best Screen Play – Motion Picture
  9. Best Original Score – Motion Picture
  10. Best Original Song – Motion Picture
  11. Best Motion Picture – Drama
  12. Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
  13. Best Motion Picture – Foreign Language
  14. Best Motion Picture – Animated
  15. Cecil B. deMille Award: Lifetime Achievement in Motion Picture

Television Awards

  1. Best Actor in Television Series – Drama
  2. Best Actor in Television Series – Musical or Comedy
  3. Best Actor in a Miniseries or Motion Picture – Television
  4. Best Actress in a Television Series – Drama
  5. Best Actress in a Television Series – Musical or Comedy
  6. Best Actress in a Miniseries or Motion Picture – Television
  7. Best Supporting Actor – Series, Miniseries or TV Motion Picture
  8. Best Supporting Actress – Series, Miniseries or TV Motion Picture
  9. Best Television Series – Drama
  10. Best Television Series – Musical or Comedy
  11. Best Miniseries or Motion Picture – Television
  12. Carol Burnett Award for Lifetime Achievement in Television

Amazing Facts about Golden Globes

  1. The Golden Globe awards are given/handed over by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA). The HFPA is basically a group of journalists from 56 different countries.
  2. In 1989, three actresses; Jodie Foster, Sigourney Weaver, and Shirley MacLaine were tied for the award in the best actress in a Motion Picture-Drama category. So all of them were given the award.
  3. There are three movies that were nominated for Golden Globe awards in seven different categories but did not win even a single Golden Globe award; Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf (1967), Foul Play (1978), and The Godfather Part III (1991).
  4. The 2007 film La La Land, was nominated for several Golden Globe Awards, of which it won Seven Awards in the categories; Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Motion Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Original Song, and Best Score, which makes it the picture with most Golden Globe wins ever.
  5. Meryl Streep has been nominated for a Golden Globe award 32 times, which is most by any actor. She also holds the record of winning most Golden Globe awards which is 8 wins.
  6. In 1980, Ricky Schroder won a Golden Globe in the Best New Star of the Year category, for his performance in the film, The Champ. He was only 9 years old at the time which makes him the youngest ever person to win a Golden Globe award. On the other hand, Jessica Tandy won a Golden Globe award in the Best Actress in a Motion Picture-Drama category in 1990 for her performance in the film Driving Miss Daisy. At the time she was 80 years old, which makes her the oldest person to win a golden globe award.
  7. There is a three-course meal for the Golden Globe attendees, and it is served before the live show. It means that food is even served before they appear on the Red Carpet. And drinks are also served at the table throughout the live show.
  8. In 1952, Golden Globe started the Cecil B. Demille lifetime achievement award, to appreciate and recognize excellent/outstanding contributions to the Film and TV industry, by individuals. The first Cecil B. Demille award was given to the legendary director Cecil B. Demille himself.
  9. In 1973, Golden Globe started a new award category for Best Documentary, but after four years in 1977, the award was discontinued.
  10. The Golden Globe statuettes weigh 5.5 LBs, and these are made of real gold. A single Golden Globe statuette costs around $800.
  11. Ving Rhames made the headlines in 1998 when he handed over his golden globe award for best actor to the nominee Jack Lemmon who was also nominated for the Best Actor that year.

The Academy Awards, (Oscars)

The BAFTA Awards

Visit Original Site of the Award Show: Link

2 thoughts on “Golden Globes (History, Award Categories, Amazing Facts)”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.